Town schools receive $2.5 million from county sales tax

A school bus waits for students at a town school on February 8, 2017. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)
A school bus waits for students at a town school on February 8, 2017. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

CHEEKTOWAGA – School districts in Cheektowaga, Sloan, and Depew recently received their cut of the $24.1 million in Erie County sales tax shared with school districts during the 1st quarter of 2018.

Erie County Comptroller Stefan I. Mychajliw hand delivered the checks to the superintendents of Cheektowaga Central, Maryvale, and Cleveland Hill.  The monies support programs and services for children, teachers, and administrators.

“The partnership between Erie County and school districts has been extremely valuable for our communities. The sales tax revenue, generated in large part thanks to our Canadian neighbors who come here to shop, is used in countless ways to support students, teachers, and districts. Compared to other counties throughout the state, Erie County shares a larger percentage of the sales tax with schools.  I have the deepest respect for public education, and I’m proud to be a strong partner with our schools,” said Mr. Mychajliw.

Cheektowaga Central School District received $621,176.33; Maryvale Union Free School District received $612,095.78; Cleveland Hill Union Free School District received $371,196.07; Cheektowaga-Sloan Union Free School District received $384,071.90; and Depew Union Free School District received $532,079.68.

This quarter, Erie County shared a total of $24,181,409.63 with school districts. Shoppers in the county generated $764 million in 2017 making our county the third highest tax generator excluding New York City.

“I will fight to protect public schools, to make sure this critically important revenue stream isn’t threatened or taken away by the politicians.  This money should stay right where it is: in the classroom to benefit kids, teachers and our communities across Erie County,” added Mr. Mychajliw.

The amount a school district receives in sales tax revenue from the County is set by an agreement between Erie County, and the three Cities of Buffalo, Lackawanna, and Tonawanda.  The agreement, signed in 1977, forbids the three cities from enacting their own city-wide sales tax which they have the authority to do under state law, in exchange for the county sharing some of the revenue they collect with them, other towns and villages and school districts.

Copyright 2019 Crabapple Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior permission.

— Click here to send a News Tip to Cheektowaga Chronicle

— Scammed, ripped off, or need help with an issue with the government? Let us know and Chronicle Connects will try to help bring a resolution to your issue.

— Subscribe to our mailing list below and read the latest news from Cheektowaga Chronicle in your email every morning at 9 am.

* indicates required