Pine Hill Hose Company installs 2017 officers

CHEEKTOWAGA, N.Y. – The Pine Hill Hose Company and affiliate organizations installed their 2017 officers at the department’s 90th Installation of Officers at the Bellevue Fire Department Saturday night.

Connie Calandra was honored as the Pine Hill Hose Company Member of the Year. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

The Member of the Year honor was awarded to firefighter Connie Calandra.  Only the past year, she not only worked as the department’s EMS Captain, she also took leads roles in the annual fund drive, meat raffle and chicken and rib barbecue. 

“Being a member of the year isn’t just about how many calls and drills you make, which are an important part of it, but add in all the other things that you are not expected to do that you are willing to take on, that is what in my mind constitutes being the member of the year,” said Pine Hill Fire Chief Leonard Luh.

The 2016 Call of the Year was a garage fire with multiple exposures at 30 and 32 Long Avenue on April 3, 2016. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

The department’s call of the year was a garage fire on Long Avenue with multiple exposures.  Firefighters arrived to find a garage fully involved in fire and threatening surrounding building. While one crew worked to bring the fire under control from the outside, another crew entered an exposure building to search for occupants.  While making their way up to second floor, the ceiling in the stairwell collapsed partially trapping a Pine Hill firefighter.  His partner from Cleveland Hill was able to free the trapped firefighter and escort him from the building with only minor injury. It was because of this action that Pine Hill Fire Chief Leonard Luh made this the call of the year.

The department attended to 542 alarms in 2016.  The department’s top responders are:

#5 Christopher Saxer, #4 Connie Calandra, #3 Daniel Malkowski, #2 Tracy Kent, #2 Mary Skowron, #1 Jessica Calandra.

[ngg_images source=”galleries” container_ids=”5″ display_type=”photocrati-nextgen_basic_thumbnails” override_thumbnail_settings=”0″ thumbnail_width=”100″ thumbnail_height=”75″ thumbnail_crop=”1″ images_per_page=”20″ number_of_columns=”0″ ajax_pagination=”0″ show_all_in_lightbox=”0″ use_imagebrowser_effect=”0″ show_slideshow_link=”1″ slideshow_link_text=”[Show as slideshow]” order_by=”sortorder” order_direction=”ASC” returns=”included” maximum_entity_count=”500″]     

(From L to R) Daniel Malkowski, Christopher Murtha, Christopher Saxer, Connie Calandra and Jessica Calandra are installed by Chief Leonard Luh as Pine Hill Hose Company’s 2017 firematic and ems officers. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

Firematic and EMS Officers:

Chief Leonard Luh
Asst. Chief Michael Skowron
Captain Daniel Malkowski
Jr. Captain Christopher Murtha
1st Lieutenant Christopher Mueller
2nd Lieutenant Christopher Saxer
EMS Captain Connie Calandra
EMS Lieutenant Jessica Calandra

(From L to R) David Caprio, Marie Luh, Michael Braun, Connie Calandra, Jessica Calandra, John Bauer and Brian Kirst are installed by President Tracy Kent as Pine Hill Hose Company’s 2017 Desk Officers. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

Desk Officers:

President Tracy Kent
Vice President Michael Braun
Treasurer John Bauer
Financial Secretary Brian Kirst
Recording Secretary Walter Czeladzinski
Corresponding Secretary Connie Calandra
Sgt at Arms Jessica Calandra
Trustee David Caprio
Trustee Marie Luh
Trustee Jeffery Speaker
Chaplain Marie Luh

(From L to R) Brian Kirst, David Daigler and Marie Luh are installed by President William Daigler, Jr. as Pine Hill Hose Company’s 2017 Exempts Officers. (Jim Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

Exempts Officers:

President William Daigler, Jr.
Vice President Robert Charvat
Secretary Gary Krueger
Treasurer David Daigler
Sgt at Arms Charlie Nichols
Trustee Brian Kirst
Trustee David Sparbel
Trustee Marie Luh
Chaplin Gary Krueger

(From L to R) Pete Miller, Victor Draz, Debbie Priebe, Mike Willard and George Priebe are installed by President Jim Herr as officers for the Pine Hill Drum and Bugle Corps. (Jessica Herr/Cheektowaga Chronicle)

Drum Corps Officers:

President Jim Herr
Vice President Debbie Priebe
Treasurer Linda Stiegler
Recording Secretary Dick Dyckman
Corresponding Secretary Lynn Hooper
Sgt at Arms Mike Willard
Trustee Victor Draz
Trustee George Priebe
Trustee Jim Lewandowski
Drum Major John Stiegler
Chief Musician Pete Miller

Copyright 2019 Crabapple Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior permission.

— Click here to send a News Tip to Cheektowaga Chronicle

— Scammed, ripped off, or need help with an issue with the government? Let us know and Chronicle Connects will try to help bring a resolution to your issue.

— Subscribe to our mailing list below and read the latest news from Cheektowaga Chronicle in your email every morning at 9 am.

* indicates required