Bruso ousts Morton from County Legislature seat

CHEEKTOWAGA – Democratic candidate John Bruso appears to have won the county’s 8th Legislator District by 631 votes ousting two-term incumbent Ted Morton.

With only 35% of registered voters casting a ballot, Mr. Bruso (D,G,W,WEP) earned 10,463 votes to Mr. Morton’s (R,C,I,REF) 9,832.

When certified by the Board of Elections, the win also changes the dynamics of the legislature as a whole and shifts power back to the Democrats.  The party now has control of both the legislative and executive branches of county government.

Campaign photo of Stefan Mychajliw.
Campaign photo of Stefan Mychajliw.

County Comptroller Stefan Mychajliw (R,C,I,REF) retains his seat over challenger Vanessa Glushefski (D,W,WEP) – 112,547 to 90,910 votes.

Michael Kerns (R,C,I,REF) beat out Steven Cichon (D,W,WEP) for County Clerk – 105,801 to 97,952 votes.

Sheriff Tim Howard (R,C,I,REF) beat challenger Bernie Tolbert (D,W,WEP) 106,578 to 102,728 votes to remain the county’s top law enforcement officer.

Copyright 2019 Crabapple Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior permission.

— Click here to send a News Tip to Cheektowaga Chronicle

— Scammed, ripped off, or need help with an issue with the government? Let us know and Chronicle Connects will try to help bring a resolution to your issue.

— Subscribe to our mailing list below and read the latest news from Cheektowaga Chronicle in your email every morning at 9 am.

* indicates required